If you’re experiencing financial difficulties, or have a friend or family member in that situation, Lifeline can help. Lifeline is a government assistance program established in 1985 to make phone service more affordable for low-income Americans. The Lifeline credit reduces monthly costs and can be applied to either telephone service or internet service. One person per household may use the Lifeline credit. Multiple Lifeline credits per household are not allowed. Service is non-transferable.

FCC Changes Lifeline Re-certification Process

The annual re-certification of your Lifeline benefits is administered by the Universal Service Administrative Co., or USAC. At least once each year, consumers who receive Lifeline service must re-certify that 1) they remain eligible to receive Lifeline service, and that 2) no one else in their household receives Lifeline service.

You may start your re-certification process at or by calling USAC at 1.855.332.3919.

Lifeline customers will receive a letter from USAC several months prior to their annual renewal date. It will explain the re-certification process and how to keep the monthly bill discount. Once in receipt of their letter, customers must verify the information within 60 days or risk losing their Lifeline benefit for the next year.

“Even though USAC administers Lifeline re-certification, we’re still your local service provider and can help you with the process,” said Deanna Vivion, SST business office manager. “If you’re having trouble, we’ll help you verify your information with USAC either over the phone or online.”

USAC maintains the National Lifeline Accountability Database designed to detect fraud. More Lifeline information can be found at If you have further questions, please call SST at 800.722.3450.

SST customers must participate in at least one of the following programs to qualify for the Lifeline credit:

    • Federal Public Housing Assistance (FPHA)
    • Supplemental Security Income (SSI)
    • Medicaid
    • Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)
    • Veterans or Survivors Pension Benefit
    • Bureau of Indian Affairs General Assistance
    • Food Distribution Program on Indian Reservations (FDPIR)
    • Head Start (income eligible only)
    • Tribally-administered emporary Assistance for Needy Families (TTANF)
    • Total household income at or below 135% of Federal Poverty Guidelines